Working Sheep

I’ve been signed up for a weekly Career builder update for awhile now. I guess I’m always ‘kinda’ looking for a new job.  This is the first time, however, that I have seen a posting that deserves to be shared.
Having never seen a listing like this before, I am unsure whether it is a commentary on the state of our economy or just a reflection of the town I live in.
So without further ado…

“Description: ENTRY LEVEL Sheepherder with 3 months of experience. Immediate Openings Available. Attends sheep grazing on range or pasture. Herds’ sheep using trained dogs. Guards flock from predators and from eating poisonous plants. May examine animals for signs of illness and administer vaccines, medication and insecticides. May assist in lambing, docking and shearing. May perform other ranch duties incidental to goat /sheep production. Large flocks with single/pair herder. Free food, housing, tools, supplies and equipment provided. May be on call 24 hours per day, 7days per week. Maximum of 11months employment. Employment for 3/4 of workdays guaranteed. Workers compensation provided. Transportation to job and subsistence provided. Return transportation provided at end of employment contract. A reference is required. Employment is available in several Western States including: NV, AZ, CA, OR, ID, WA, CO, UT, MT, SD, WY, Minimum salary varies according to States. From $750.00 to $1350.00. Please go to your nearest Employment Center or call.”

That’s right, just in case you too were looking for a career move, that of sheepherder seems to be a viable choice.

One thought on “Working Sheep

  1. Nik! The sent me the sheep herding post, too! I’m not sure how it matches my program/project training manager profile, but apparently it does. I think careerbuilder knows I own a border collie – that’s my theory and I’m sticking to it!

Leave a Reply

