I Quit!

I wasn’t going to write a stinkin’ blog this week.

After my big resounding announcement of dedication to writing one new blog each week, I went and had a birthday which, as an artist, got me all sorts of twisted up and I decided I was going to quit.  Quit writing.  Never write again.  Why?  Because. Because I’m tried.  Because I’m not inspired.  Because I don’t have the time.  Because no one is reading.  Because I just don’t think I can make it through another year of rejection letters.  So I quit.

I quit I quit I quit.

I will never write another word ever again…

Ever…

And with that declaration at hand, I went to bed.

…but then….

I woke up this morning.

And here we are and I’m writing.

You see, it’s the damnedest thing. I opened my eyes and got pissed.  I pulled myself out of bed with a ‘they aren’t going to get me down’ mumbling sort of encouragement to myself as I turned on the computer and started making the corrections I’ve been meaning to make on one of my books ever since this past September when I was curling my hair and it hit me like a ton of bricks how to fix this book so that it is complete and full and rich and wonderful and people would want to read it.

As I printed out the first few pages in order to mark it up and fix the problems I’ve been having, I began to read what I had.

(I’m going to do something here that makes the artist in me very very nervous.  I’m going to say something positive about my writing.)

What I re-read: that shit is good.

Just to let you know, my faithful few readers, I was going to quit but I decided not to.  I just needed to decide if I was going to be a writer or be a complainer.  So this is my complaining and now I’m over it.  The writing part got done today.   I’m not writing this so that I’ll receive pats on the back and pleas of ‘don’t stop writing’.  I just needed to get it out into the ether of the inter web land.  Now it’s out.

This is hard though, trying to get a foot in the door in the big bad world of publishing; not that anyone ever said it was going to be a piece of cake.  So to quote Tom Hanks character from A League of Their Own: “It’s supposed to be hard. If it wasn’t hard, everyone would do it. The hard… is what makes it great”

That and writing one good sentence that just rolls off your fingers onto a blank page, one good sentence that sings and echoes in the literary heart.

Now here’s a picture for your enjoyment.

IMAG0361

3 thoughts on “I Quit!

  1. :(((……. ::)))) My heart dropped with that first paragraph!!! Don’t ever do that again!!!! I mean it! I was about to come through the computer, call you, jump on a plane to shake sense into you but as i kept reading I see I no longer need to do that…..ahhhh. But damn if my heart has not gone back to it’s regularly programmed schedule! THIS: What I re-read: that shit is good. Keep telling yourself that, because it’s the truth. You know exactly how I feel about your writing. And THIS: “It’s supposed to be hard. If it wasn’t hard, everyone would do it. The hard… is what makes it great” Keep reminding yourself of that….if those are not the truest words of most anything in life…I don’t know what is. I love you, I love your writing. Do not ever stop…I can’t imagine what you go through as a writer but i do know you are amazing! Now Don’t ever do that to me again!!! LOL! Love ya lots;)

Leave a Reply

