Process-ed

“I don’t want to sell anything, buy anything, or process anything as a career. I don’t want to sell anything bought or processed, or buy anything sold or processed, or process anything, sold, bought or processed, or repair anything sold, bought, or processed. You know, as a career.  I don’t want to do that.” – Lloyd Dobler, Say Anything.

I don’t want to self-publish, I don’t want to pay for self-publishing, or put the time and effort in to building a following that would go need to go with self-publishing. But I want to be published. I don’t want to pay an editor in order to self-publish, but I need help in order to get an agent. I don’t want to write another query letter in order to get an agents attention. But I want an agent’s attention. I don’t want a giant publishing house where I’m going to get lost in the shuffle, and I don’t want a small little press that won’t get my book ‘out there’.  I don’t want to write another synopsis of my novels in order to sell them to agents, but I want an agent who will sell my work for me. I don’t want a career handed to me on a silver platter but I do want a giant neon sign pointing me in the right direction.  You know what I mean?  -Nicole Sharp, feelings from a Tuesday afternoon

Leave a Reply

